Change

I’ve always had this tendency to assume that change; can only be for the worse.

Two months ago, while a friend and I were having a coffee, he asked me when i will leave for abroad. It’s been almost three years since i started working as a nurse and he said that’s enough experience for me and I should try working overseas. I said why would I? He said I’d be a fool if I didn’t.

And then he started telling me about his work in Canada, how great it was and how I should try working there. I said nah, I’m pretty much settled here. I’m embracing the simple, relatively angst-free pleasures of Tarlac. He was laughing.

Tarlac has been my home for 23 years. My family’s here, my friends, and my job. I love my job by the way, it doesn’t pay much, but i love it. And then i told him about my work, my friends at work and my patients. it’s true. I love where I am now.

At least, that’s what I know.

Three hours of talking and four cups of coffee after, I was left thinking. Am I really happy with what i have now? Am I really gonna sit here my entire life and wait for the world to come to me? Maybe it’s the caffeine talking. I dont know.

Maybe it’s true what they say. That people’s lives, their real lives, only begin when they step out into the world. Like whatever’s waiting for me out there, may not be that bad. And even if it is, then not knowing about it, might actually be the good part. I’m so melodramatic right now. Lol

And just like that, I made the biggest decision of my life. I called my brother, who is in Dubai and told him i made up my mind. I wanted to go and work in Dubai.

A week later, I received my Visa and my plane ticket. I have two weeks to notify my employer about my resignation, and to say goodbye to my friends and colleagues.

July 21, 2008. I was on my way to Dubai. But getting there is another story. Trust me.

Look, my point is that I don’t think that everybody is presented with an opportunity like this when they’re 23. Or when they’re 30. But that doesn’t mean you stop looking and hoping. You know, ’cause you will. And when you do, I guess you know it.

1 comment so far

  1. Anonymous on

    same words I’ve spoken when we were having coffee, I thought it was me…

    So long kuya!

    marko: hehe. see you soon kuya


Leave a Reply

