Best Man

Imagine yourself saying these words. “To have and to hold, from this day forward, for better or worse, for richer or poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, till death do us part.” How would you feel? No I’m not getting married. At least not yet. But my brother did! He finally tied the knot with his girlfriend Jec yesterday in a civil wedding. And hopefully soon on a church coz I’d like to be the best man. You know, the one who organizes the bachelor party, giving the speech and making the toast and all. I’ve never been one so hopefully at my brother’s church wedding or Jergs’ (my best friend) or Chino’s (my other best friend) wedding. Ha! Sadly I wasn’t able to come (di nyo ko hinintay!) but it’s okay, I saw the video and all and they look very happy. Are they? Hehe. Kidding. But seriously. I’m really happy for both of you. I don’t have my speech ready yet, still working on it, but as Joey Tribbiani said, marriage is pretty much about having and giving, sharing and receiving. Hehe. Congratulations!

Mr and Mrs Gilbert Bisda

Mr and Mrs Gilbert Bisda

Post pahabol:

In Bhutan, the best man presents himself at the wedding as a ceremonial guardian to both bride and groom. Thereafter he performs for the guests before commencement of marriage. These performances can last for 5 hours with the exhausted best man returning to his wooden carriage very similar to a dog kennel. He remains there to watch on before joining the other guests to celebrate the special occasion- usually in a drunken stupor. Whew!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

